Making Science Accessible

We just published the results of our PLoS One paper in the Science Journal for Kids. This is our first experience with this journal and we are excited to see the results of this work.
We think it is important to engage the public and to make science accessible and this seemed like a great way to do this. We are always looking for more ways to engage and welcome your feedback and ideas.

Activated entomopathogenic nematode infective juveniles release lethal venom proteins

Congratulations to Dihong Lu, Dennis Chang, and our collaborators. Our manuscript, “Activated entomopathogenic nematode infective juveniles release lethal venom proteins,” was just accepted by PLoS Pathogens. The paper is scheduled for early release on April 20th. Great work!

Molecular Helminthology 2017

Congratulations to Dennis Chang, for being awarded a travel scholarship to the Molecular Helminthology meeting in Cape Code this month!

Be on the lookout for Dennis’s poster where he details our latest work in his poster: “The insect-parasitic nematode Steinernema carpocapsae releases a composition of lethal proteins inside hosts.” Good luck at the conference Dennis.

New paper published

A new paper was just published from the Dillman Lab. “Infective juveniles of the entomopathogenic nematode Steiernema scapterisci are preferentially activated by cricket tissue.” This was a collaborative effort between Dillman lab members Dihong Lu and Claudia Sepulveda. Congratulations on the fine work. This represents the first primary research article where all of the work was done in the Dillman lab. Here’s to many more!

Also, Tiffany Baiocchi is giving an oral presentation at the annual Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology this week. Good luck Tiffany!

Lab Picture

Well, we were finally able to round up most of the lab and take a lab picture. From left to right, starting with the back row we have Paul Medinda, Tiffany Baiocchi, Adler Dillman, Carter Gerke, and Kassandra Kin. From left to right on the front row there is Sudarshan Aryal, Dihong Lu, Sowgand Bashiri, Lauren Braun, Claudia Sepulveda, and Dennis Chang. The picture is missing Lauren Allison, Grant Lee, and our visiting scholar, Keyun Zhang.